security guard

My name is Hùng and I work as a security guard for the building CT4A/X2 Bắc Linh Đàm, under management of the Hanoi Urban Development company [or HUD, a company owned by the Hanoi People’s committee]. I can say that I have been through it all: grew up in Hưng Yên, went to Thái Nguyên for college, and even worked as a waiter in Saigon for five years before working here in Hanoi. No matter where I am, I know I will survive as long as I feel content with my life.

I’ve been in this company for 10 years. I started off running errands, fixing electrical stuff and then officially became a security guard in 2006. Before that, I studied to be an electrician in Thái Nguyên College, hoping that I could find a suitable job with a good salary after graduation. However, it was tough because I could not find a job that related to what I studied. Sometimes, I realized, it even costs money to get a job. Plus, my qualifications are limited, and I’m definitely not into studying anymore (laughs). Then, my friends recommended me to this job, and I’ve been doing it ever since.

This job isn’t anything particularly special– not to say that it’s boring! My work hours vary between days, it could either be an 8-hour or 12-hour shift; the morning shift starts at 7am, while the night shift starts at 6pm. By the end of each month, I usually get 6-7 days off – pretty decent. Before starting a shift, I must receive duties and documents from guards of the previous shift. Then I’ll go check the power and water supply, check some documents, and clean and rearrange the bikes in the parking lot.

Here at CT4A/X2 Bắc Linh Đàm, I have to interact with all kinds of people, from students and intellectuals to workers, and visitors. Some of the students and the younger guys that live here often come down and chit-chat with me, so I’ve managed to build a close relationship with them. Still, dealing with people of all ages and all kind of occupations is tough. I consider myself as a “servant”, so I always have to remember how to communicate with people properly.

Work hours here, as I mentioned, are not really flexible. Even during the New Year Holiday, I do not get a break like other jobs do, because there will still be residents in the building. In other cases, such as urgent matters, I have to rearrange my schedule with other co-workers to see if they can take my shift. On the bright side, though, whenever I don’t have to work, I could do extra jobs such as filling in as an electrician or driving xe om– as long as it doesn’t affect my work here.

People might think, as a security guard, I have to deal with a lot of robbery and burglary. Not here, though – it’s pretty safe. There hasn’t been any case of theft in this building before. But if you want to know more about good guys-bad guys, go ask the policemen, okay? (Laughs). I can easily know if someone comes into this building with bad intention. For instance, I’ll ask any visitors going to room 608, “Who lives in that apartment?”, and they should know the answer if they are the resident’s acquaintance. Otherwise, I’ll suspect them right away because I remember up to 97% of residents’ names here, I tell you (laughs).

This job, just like any other job, requires honesty and professionalism. I know that I can’t do this job forever, but as long as I’m working here, I have to do my best. Then if I get an opportunity to work somewhere else, I’ll already have a good reputation from the previous job. To be honest, I had a chance or two to change my job, but I rejected it. I had to consider it really carefully because I figured that it might not have turn out to be as good as it seemed.

Enough about my job, I’ll tell you a little bit more about my family. I got married to the girl next door in 2008 (laughs) and we just had a 1-month baby girl. Both of them are still living in my hometown, but I’ll eventually bring them here to settle down in Hanoi with me. Although this job does not live up to my expectations, my family is the biggest motivation to keep me working and making a living, so I can make a better future for my little family.

Contributors:  Tracy Nguyen, Đinh Đoàn Vũ,  Nguyễn Thanh Nga,  Trương Công Tuấn

Bảo vệ

Leave a comment